h.e.l.l.o.

let's play hide-and-seek!

Cook i met i like.

Hello all! Today I will start my first food posting on my grandma’s cooking, what I must say is, she is a really good cook, my guru of cooking! I have not seen her for 8 months since I was away to New Zealand for my working holiday. When I got back, I was so tempted to taste her yam dumpling again, and of cos her yam abacus dish (family’s favorite at all time). I always think the traditional Chinese cuisine cooking is the hardest to learn, it seems like you need a lots of trial and error to get the same taste as how your mom and grandma cooks.

grandmacook-01

But I always love to watch my grandma cooks, she always cook without a written recipe in hand, seems like she had every single steps in her mind. Whenever she starts teaching me to cook, she will definitely say to me: “you should get yourself more in cooking, cooking is not just by looking at the recipe book, you got to know what you are doing, need lots of practice and experiments.” And she will always end with saying; please do not ask me again on the same recipe.

grandmacook-02

Hehe, guess she is not a very patient cook but am sure she is a good one. After all the cooking done, it was just perfect time for our lunch, having our hakka yam dumplings with a cup of hot milky white coffee, it was an enjoyment. I had a great cooking session with my grandma, I will always treasure the time chatting with my grandma that i have not done for the past 8 months, although she will nagged me for not doing it perfectly as she expected me to do but i guess she is happy to see me.

grandmacook-03

Stop worrying too much and be happy, grandma! Oh, i nearly forget to share the recipe. The recipe below is written just base on a gauge measurements of all the ingredients that we used, you are good to change it.

My Grandma’s Hakka Yam Dumpling (approx.15)

< Dumpling Skin >
1 medium-sized yam (cut into pieces of 1 cm thick)
approx. 300g tapioca flour (enough to knead yam to a dough)
Boiling water (for boiling the yam) + 1 tbsp oil
little bit of salt

< Filling >

150g pork belly (shredded)
250g turnip (shredded)
6 Chinese mushroom (soaked till soften and shredded)
40g dried shrimp (soaked till soften and shredded)
lard (pork fat) little bit of salt
3 shallots (chopped)

< Seasoning >
2 tbsp fish sauce

1 tbsp sesame oil
0.5 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp pepper
salt to taste

< To make the filling >
1. Heat up the wok with lard, stir-fry shallots and dried shrimp, followed with pork then the rest of the ingredients.
2. Add in the seasoning and fry till aroma.
3. Cool it completely before wrapping.

< To make the dumpling skin >
1. Boil yam pieces in a pot of water with salt and mash while still hot. And add the flour in and knead until you get non-sticky dough. If the dough is too dry, do add some of the yam water (the water that you used to boil the yam) into the dough. Leave it to cool before using it.
2. Divide dough into 20 portions. Flatten the dough and shape it into a round shape.
3. Wrap in 1 tbsp or enough filling and sealed the edges firmly.
4. Brushed each piece of dumpling with the oil to prevent them from sticking together. Place dumpling on an oiled plate and steam over boiling water for 6 – 7 minutes till the yam’s skin turns bit transparent.
8. Eat it plain or serve with garlic chilly sauce.

grandmacook-04

< enjoy >

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2012 by in cooking and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Categories

Top Food Blogs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 727 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
my foodgawker gallery
OBSTFUL

A Really Obstful Blog

How Far From Home

Two Creatives. One Wanderlist. Zero reasons to stay at home.

Homemade Delish

With creativity and imagination you can style anything to your taste

Rustic Plate

Tasty homemade food for home cooks

Queen Smithereen.

A Home Cook's Journal of Tastes & Morsels

